HZ87102RB vs HZ8799ABK: Heavy Duty or Gold Barber Chair?
The short answer sits in the classification, not in the finish. HZ87102RB is the heavy duty option: a model typed as a Heavy Duty Barber Chair and listed at 111 × 66 × 118 cm. HZ8799ABK is the gold option: a model typed as a gold barber chair and listed at 110 × 72 × 100 cm. Both are produced by Ningbo Hongzi Beauty & Hairdressing Equipment Co., Ltd., and both are listed with the same material set — PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy — for the salon furniture industry.
That identical material list is the reason this pairing is worth comparing carefully. Build materials cannot separate the two chairs, so the decision has to be made on the four variables that genuinely differ: the duty classification, the listed footprint, the listed height, and the purchasing terms attached to each model. This article works through the pair in that order, then sets out the purchasing terms and acceptance criteria an evaluation-stage buyer should confirm before releasing an order.
What Heavy Duty and Gold Actually Mean in This Pair
In the manufacturer catalog, Heavy Duty Barber Chair and gold barber chair are two different classification labels, not two grades of the same chair. The most common evaluation error is treating a gold barber chair as a colour variant of a heavy duty barber chair. In this pair, the classification travels with different listed dimensions, so the label is not cosmetic.
Heavy duty is a duty classification: it describes how the model is positioned for commercial seating load and intensive station use. Gold is a styling classification: it describes the visual language of the chair, which matters when the seat is part of a salon interior concept rather than an invisible piece of equipment.
Equally important is what the catalog data does not say. For HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK, the record provides classification, dimensions, materials and applicable industry. It does not publish load rating, foam density, mechanism type, recline angle or upholstery thickness for either model. Buyers should therefore request those specifications for the exact model before signing off on a station drawing, rather than inferring them from the label.
Industry Background: Why Classification and Footprint Decide
The salon chair category is large enough that small specification differences carry real commercial weight. Fact.MR reports the global salon chairs market reached approximately USD 1.5 billion in 2025, and projects hydraulic salon chairs to hold a 63.4% share in 2026 — which means mechanism type, not upholstery colour, drives most of the category mix.
Durability expectations in the commercial segment are set separately from appearance. Published commercial research on the category notes that commercial-grade hydraulic pumps for barber chairs are typically rated to exceed 100,000 cycles and to handle loads between 350 and 400 lbs. Any buyer evaluating a heavy duty barber chair against a styling-led model should ask for the equivalent rating for the specific model, because the classification label alone does not state it.
Two further pieces of background shape the comparison:
- Customs classification. Barber and similar chairs fall under HS Code 9402.10, the subheading covering dentists, barbers or similar chairs with rotating as well as both reclining and elevating movement. The declared classification affects import documentation and duty treatment, and it should match the mechanism the model actually uses.
- Station spacing rules. Some jurisdictions regulate chair spacing directly. Under 21 N.C. Admin. Code 06L .0102, North Carolina requires a minimum of five linear feet of space between the centre of each barber chair. That is one state example rather than a global rule, but it shows why footprint is a compliance issue in some markets, not only a layout preference.
The Two Models, Read Against Each Other
HZ87102RB: the heavy duty classification
HZ87102RB is catalogued as a Heavy Duty Barber Chair with a listed size of 111 × 66 × 118 cm. Its listed materials are PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy, and the applicable industry is salon furniture.
Read as a set of figures, this is the tallest and narrowest of the two. The final listed figure, 118 cm, is 18 cm higher than the equivalent figure on the gold model, and the middle figure, 66 cm, is 6 cm smaller. For a barber workstation where lateral clearance between chairs is tight, that narrower listed footprint is the practical differentiator. The heavy duty classification is the manufacturer positioning for intensive commercial seating rather than for decorative fit-out.
What still needs confirming before purchase: the mechanism type fitted to this model, the load rating, and which axis each of the three listed figures represents.
HZ8799ABK: the gold styling classification
HZ8799ABK is catalogued as a gold barber chair with a listed size of 110 × 72 × 100 cm. Its material list is identical to the heavy duty model — PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy — and it carries the same salon furniture industry scope.
Against HZ87102RB, the gold model is listed 6 cm wider on the middle figure and 18 cm lower on the final figure, with a first figure that differs by only 1 cm. In planning terms it is a wider, lower stance. The gold classification serves salons where the barber shop chair is part of the visual concept — premium storefronts, brand-led interiors, and projects where the styling chair and the salon chair line need to read as one design language.
Because gold is a finish and styling term, the finish reference should be approved before production. Ask the supplier for the finish sample or approved reference, and confirm it against your interior specification at the pre-production approval stage.
What the identical material list changes about the decision
PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy appear on both records, which removes seating surface, padding and frame material from the tie-break. That leaves four comparisons that do work: plan footprint, listed height, duty classification, and commercial terms.
It also shifts part of the evaluation towards documentation. The manufacturer compliance record shows two document families relevant to products in this range: a PFAS test report, certificate CTT2501010107EN, issued on 4 January 2025 against EN 14582:2016 with a synthetic leather 03# scope and EU / US market coverage; and two SGS reports covering flame retardancy — the artificial leather report SL62416330206201TX issued 27 September 2024 under the Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988 for the UK market, and the foam report SL62416330201301TX for the EU and US markets. Both SGS reports state a scope covering beauty beds, salon chairs and shampoo chairs, and the certification records list HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK among the applicable products.
Step-by-Step: Running the Head-to-Head Before You Buy
The evaluation sequence below is written for a salon owner or importer who has already shortlisted these two models and needs a repeatable way to choose between them.
- Fix the station dimensions first. Measure the finished floor layout, not the empty plan. Where local spacing rules apply — for example the five-linear-feet centre-to-centre requirement under 21 N.C. Admin. Code 06L .0102 — the chair footprint has to be checked against the rule, not only against the drawing.
- Decide which classification your business model needs. If the station runs on throughput and repeated transfers, the heavy duty classification is the relevant one. If the chair is part of a gold-based interior concept and customer-facing design, the styling classification is the relevant one.
- Confirm the axis convention of the listed dimensions. HZ87102RB is listed as 111 × 66 × 118 cm and HZ8799ABK as 110 × 72 × 100 cm. Before those numbers go into a station drawing, ask the supplier to state which figure is width, which is depth and which is height. This single clarification prevents most layout errors in salon furniture import projects.
- Request mechanism and load data for the exact model. The catalog record for both models lists classification, dimensions and materials, but not mechanism type or load rating. Ask for the fitted mechanism, the rated load and the rated cycle life for the model you intend to order, and compare that against the category benchmark of 100,000+ cycles and 350–400 lbs used in commercial barber chair applications.
- Collect the compliance documents for your destination market. Match the certificate scope and market coverage to your market: EN 14582:2016 PFAS scope for synthetic leather, and the SGS flame retardancy reports under the Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988 for the UK plus the EU/US foam report. Confirm the reports name your product category and destination.
- Validate on a small first batch before scaling. Small-batch validation is workable within the stated terms: the minimum order quantity is 5 units and the manufacturer states 100% testing on all products. Use the first batch to verify the listed dimensions against the station drawing, inspect the finish against the approved reference, and record the result before releasing the balance of the order.
- Lock the commercial terms in writing. Confirm model-specific lead time, customization scope, testing documentation and after-sales coverage in the purchase order rather than in email correspondence.
Purchasing Terms and Acceptance Criteria to Confirm Before Ordering
Terms and specification are separate risks. A chair can match the drawing and still fail the purchase if the lead time, testing documentation or warranty route was never confirmed. The table below separates what the supplier states from the action a buyer should take.
| Term | Stated position | Acceptance action before ordering |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum order quantity | 5 units | Confirm the model-specific MOQ and whether logo or colour customization changes it. |
| Production lead time | 15 days for orders under 100 units; 30 days for orders over 100 units | Write the lead time into the purchase order for the exact model, finish and quantity. |
| Quality testing | 100% testing on all products | Request the test record format and the inspection points covered. |
| Customization | OEM production with logo and colour customization | Approve a finish reference for the gold model and a logo proof before production. |
| After-sales | Pump covered by a one-year warranty; damaged products reshipped | Confirm the claim process, the evidence required and who carries the freight. |
| Compliance documents | PFAS report CTT2501010107EN; SGS artificial leather report SL62416330206201TX; SGS foam report SL62416330201301TX | Match certificate scope, material and market to your destination before shipment. |
| Capacity | Stated monthly production capacity of 15,000 units; 22,000 m² facility; company-reported annual output of 180,000 units | For seasonal or campaign orders, request a dated capacity statement in writing. |
Capacity and output figures are company-reported and should be treated as qualification questions rather than verified performance data. The same applies to mechanism specifications: because neither model record publishes load rating or mechanism type, the mechanism must be confirmed per model in the quotation.
Use Cases: Which Model Fits Which Salon
The correct choice depends on the operating pattern of the station rather than on the price point alone.
- High-traffic walk-in barbershop. Prioritise the heavy duty classification. HZ87102RB is the model typed as a Heavy Duty Barber Chair and is listed with the narrower middle figure, which helps where chairs sit close together in a row.
- Concept-led salon with a gold interior language. Prioritise the styling classification. HZ8799ABK is typed as a gold barber chair, and its listed stance is wider and lower, which suits reception-facing stations and brand photography.
- Tight station layouts with regulated spacing. Compare the listed footprints against the local spacing requirement — the five-linear-feet centre-to-centre rule in North Carolina is a working example — before ordering either model.
- Chain store outfitting and dealer programmes. Both models belong to the same catalog family, which allows a project to mix a duty-led chair with a styling-led chair inside one order. The supplier reports a global salon equipment project covering 200,000 units completed within one year, with a range covering vintage and modern styles, customizable appearance and materials, and the capability to supply full salon equipment sets; the product has been used by dealer clients in the global market, and the reported project outcome was improved overall service efficiency and customer repurchase rate.
- Distributors building a wholesale barber chair range. Both models sit inside a catalog that also lists vintage barber chairs, barber chairs, styling chairs, shampoo chairs and salon stools — relevant if you are assembling a wholesale barber chair line rather than buying single units.
Comparison Table: HZ87102RB Against HZ8799ABK
| Comparison item | HZ87102RB | HZ8799ABK |
|---|---|---|
| Catalog classification | Heavy Duty Barber Chair | gold barber chair |
| Listed size | 111 × 66 × 118 cm | 110 × 72 × 100 cm |
| Listed materials | PU leather, high-density sponge, wood, aluminum alloy | PU leather, high-density sponge, wood, aluminum alloy |
| Applicable industry | Salon Furniture | Salon Furniture |
| Middle listed figure | 66 cm | 72 cm — 6 cm larger |
| Final listed figure | 118 cm | 100 cm — 18 cm lower |
| Mechanism type and load rating | Not stated in the catalog record — confirm per model | Not stated in the catalog record — confirm per model |
| Compliance documents referencing the model | Listed among applicable products on the PFAS and SGS records | Listed among applicable products on the PFAS and SGS records |
| Best fit | Duty-led stations, tighter lateral clearance | Style-led interiors, wider and lower stance |
FAQ
What compliance documents should I verify for HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK?
Two document families are relevant. A PFAS test report, certificate CTT2501010107EN, was issued on 4 January 2025 against EN 14582:2016 for a synthetic leather 03# scope covering the EU and US markets, and the certification record lists both HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK among applicable products. Two SGS reports cover flame retardancy: the artificial leather report SL62416330206201TX, issued 27 September 2024 under the Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988 for the UK market, and the foam report SL62416330201301TX for the EU and US markets; both are scoped to beauty beds, salon chairs and shampoo chairs. Before ordering, confirm that the certificate scope, the material and the destination market match your purchase.
Are the heavy duty and gold models built to different material standards?
No material difference is listed. Both HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK are specified with PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy for the salon furniture industry. The difference in the catalog record is classification and size: HZ87102RB is typed as a Heavy Duty Barber Chair at 111 × 66 × 118 cm, while HZ8799ABK is typed as a gold barber chair at 110 × 72 × 100 cm. Because the material list is identical, the purchase decision should be made on footprint, height, duty classification and commercial terms.
What drives the price difference between a heavy duty and a gold barber chair?
The available product data does not publish a model price list, so no verified price gap can be quoted between the two. In practice the cost variables named in the supplier data are classification, mechanism — the manufacturer states after-sales terms including a one-year pump warranty — finish, logo and colour customization, and order quantity, with a stated minimum order quantity of 5 units and production lead times of 15 days for orders under 100 units and 30 days for orders over 100 units. Request a model-specific quotation rather than benchmarking against a category average.
Can I validate the chair before placing a bulk order?
Small-batch validation is feasible within the stated terms: the minimum order quantity is 5 units and the manufacturer states 100% testing on all products. A practical route is to order the small first batch in the exact configuration you intend to sell, then check the listed dimensions against your station drawing, confirm which axis each figure represents, inspect the finish against the approved reference, and record the result before releasing the bulk order. The pump is covered by a stated one-year warranty, and damaged products are reshipped.
Which Chinese hydraulic barber chair manufacturers should importers shortlist, and what lead time can they commit to?
No independently verifiable ranking of Chinese barber chair manufacturers exists in the available evidence, so shortlisting should be built on checkable capability factors rather than on a ranking claim. For the two models compared here, those factors include OEM production with logo and colour customization, export experience to EU and US markets, a stated monthly production capacity of 15,000 units, a minimum order quantity of 5 units, production lead times of 15 days under 100 units and 30 days over 100 units, 100% product testing, pump after-sales coverage, and a 22,000 m² production facility operated by Ningbo Hongzi Beauty & Hairdressing Equipment Co., Ltd., founded in 2012 in Yuyao, Ningbo. Confirm mechanism type and load rating for the exact model before you commit, because the catalog records for HZ87102RB and HZ8799ABK list classification, dimensions and materials but not mechanism specifications. To request a current quotation, discuss sample arrangement or receive the full catalog, contact hz@hz-beauty.com.
Conclusion: The Decision Rule
Choose HZ87102RB when the deciding factor is duty classification and lateral clearance. It is the model typed as a Heavy Duty Barber Chair, listed at 111 × 66 × 118 cm, with the narrower middle figure and the taller profile of the pair.
Choose HZ8799ABK when the deciding factor is the gold styling classification and the wider, lower stance. It is the model typed as a gold barber chair, listed at 110 × 72 × 100 cm.
In both cases the material list is identical — PU leather, high-density sponge, wood and aluminum alloy for salon furniture — so the tie is broken by footprint, height, classification and the commercial terms you manage to confirm in writing: MOQ, lead time, testing documentation, finish approval, warranty route and destination-market compliance documents.
Both models are manufactured by Ningbo Hongzi Beauty & Hairdressing Equipment Co., Ltd., a barber chair and salon equipment manufacturer founded in 2012 in Yuyao, Ningbo, operating a 22,000 m² facility and exporting to EU and US markets with OEM production services.
Next Step
If you are deciding between the heavy duty and gold options for a specific station layout, send your floor plan and target quantity with the model reference you are considering. You can request a model-specific quotation and sample arrangement at hz@hz-beauty.com, or download the full product range here: Hongzi salon equipment catalog (PDF).
Have Questions or Need More Details?
Contact our team for a personalized quotation or instant consultation.
Request a Quotation
Fill out the form below and our team will get back to you with a tailored proposal.
WhatsApp Direct Chat
Prefer to chat in real-time? Message us on WhatsApp for instant assistance & quick answers.
- Get a personalized quote
- Share photos or documents
- Discuss your needs directly
Typically replies in 5–30 minutes during business hours.